Martinelli The Great

John Francis Welsh, born in Savannah, GA.

4 thoughts on “Martinelli The Great

  1. This was my Great Grandfather’s Brother. I know his real name, where he was born, etc. If interested, email me at welshrepairs@yahoo.com I have been looking for any information on him for almost 20 years now. Thank you.

    • Patrick says:
      March 1, 2015 at 1:12 am
      This was my Great Grandfather’s Brother. I know his real name, where he was born, etc. If interested, email me at welshrepairs@yahoo.com I have been looking for any information on him for almost 20 years now. Thank you.

      Ray says:

      I visited the site today and noticed your comment from 2015. I have no doubts that the person in the picture is my father. One of the few mementos that I had as I grew up was that particular picture of him. I have one other picture of him without all the advertising for his magic act. Just a regular picture. It clearly shows that the picture that I have is the same person as the one on the internet image.

      I never got to know my father and I’m unaware of brothers or other family members. The last time that I saw my father was about 1950 in Buffalo, New York. My mother recently passed and I have come across the application for a marriage license.

      My father’s name was Peter Antonia Martinelli. He was a magician and my mother (Patricia Sarah Haury) was his betrothed. The application was dated 1/10/40. His father and mother were also magicians. According to the application he was born in Chile, S.A. 2/1/1902. His father was Peter Martinelli II and his mother was Andrea Riguelm, both of Chile S.A. and both deceased. The city would probably be Concepcion. The application indicates this was his first marriage. I have noted a discrepancy between his marriage application birthdate (2/1/1902) and his age on my brothers birth certificate (49 years old). My brother was born 1/28/41 which would indicate that my father was born in 1892 and not 1902 as shown on the marriage application. I was born 6/17/42 and my birth certificate says my father was 52 years old. The error seems to be the marriage certificate. My mother had told me once that he lied to her about his age. He led her to believe that he was younger than he was. She was only 19 when they got married. They had two more children. She left him in the late forties and took the children. They got divorced about 1949.

      I hope that this gets to you and I hope that it is helpful.

      Ray Martinelli

Leave a Reply

